Pink Slime and the Kosher Market
Our readers have asked us to research whether pink slime is an issue in the kosher meat industry- so we asked two experts. Their answers follow: From Jack Silberstein, Jack’s Gourmet Pink slime is not used in any of the products produced in our facility. We at Jack’s Gourmet use only whole muscle meat in our production.
As for Kosher in general, I can say with certainty that most if not all kosher processors are NOT using pink slime in their ground beef. In general, it would be up to each meat processor and butcher as to whether they use it in their products. After making several inquiries, it does not seem as though pink slime is even available in the kosher market. You can tell your readers to rest easy on this issue.
From June Hersh, The Kosher Carnivore:
I had done a little research on it and found an article that discussed the pink slime relative to kosher. McDonald's as an example in Israel does not have pink slime as the meat is 100% kosher certified and contains no additives. Here's what they said:
“Referring to kosher meat, and this can apply to a great extent to “halal” certified meat for Muslims as well, a certain degree of cleanliness is practiced; which most likely would not involve using meat scraps from the floors of slaughterhouses. These meat scraps are what pink slime is based on, as previously reported.” http://www.greenprophet.com/2012/03/pink-slime-mcdonalds/
Statement from OU Kosher: Kosher ground beef is made out of the kosher pieces of meat, trimmed by hand. No mechanically separated beef or pink slime is used in any OU-certified production.
KosherEye will continue to pursue news on pink slime as it relates to the Kosher meat industry. We hope that it is a non–issue.
Passover Coloring Page
From our friend Ann D. Koffsky — illustrator and children's book author — another delightful creation, a Passover Coloring page for the kids. Just print the page and let your "little" artists create a masterpiece; they will have such fun! While you are visiting Ann's website, please browse and view her wonderful Judaic art work.
KosherEye Passover Tips, Links & Information 2012
Have a Passover question? Want to know some tips for shopping for less? We have it! Passover Tips, Links & Information.
KosherEye Passover Links & Tips
Have a Passover question? Want to know some tips for shopping for less? We have it!
Passover for Less Tips: (Consult with your Rabbi)
• Heinz wine vinegar, Heinz garlic wine vinegar certified OU-P (certification must appear)
• Coffee any plain, unflavored beans; grinder must be clean. Instant requires certification
• Any dishwashing soap
• Pure frozen concentrate orange juice- any
• Frozen fruit-acceptable if not sweetened or cooked, and contains no additives
• Raw Pecan halves or wholes are acceptable without Passover certification. Also, other raw nuts that are not blanched or roasted and free of bha/bht are also acceptable
• Kirkland and Trident salmon – OU (no special Passover certification necessary)
• Quinoa – Some Rabbis allow its use on Passover and some Rabbis don't. This year it has been found that a lot of the quinoa available has been processed in facilities that process grains. We have been advised that it only be purchased from Bolivia (where they commonly do not process it with grains.) Ancient Harvest brand, lot code 3.01.14 k, sold in small retail 12 oz boxes. When ordering directly from them, mention that you want the Passover run. http://www.quinoa.net/; (310) 217-8125. It should be checked thoroughly by hand for grains before Passover. Check with your Rabbi.
• Soaps – any
• Styrofoam - any
• Real lemon in bottle – OU (no special Passover certification necessary)
• Tea bags – any unflavored
• Bigelow, many varieties
• White sugar – any without additives, Brown sugar must have Passover certification
• Make your own vanilla sugar Make your own noodles Make your own stawberry jam -- sugar, lemon, strawberries
• Baking soda -all kosher without certification
• Extra virgin olive oil – all kosher without certification
• Cocoa –any 100% pure no additives such as Hershey's
Here is a convenient link to the three top kashruth sites for answers: CRC Passover 2011 Guide, Star-K Passover 2011 Guide and OU Passover 2011 Guide.
Is it kosher? App: A new App for iPad and mobile devices, shares lists of kosher fish, animals and sushi. This app educates and informs consumers as to whether an animal is considered inherently kosher. Kosher preparation, certification and kosher slaughter (shechita) of course would be necessary for kashrut. This app is handy for “kosher on the go” consumers and shoppers as a first step toward understanding kosher. This app is priced at .99. iTunes.
OU Kosher App: The OU has introduced an App to search the kosher status of all OU products for Passover and year-round. The free app is available for download for iPhones, iPads, iPod Touch, and Androids at the OU website or directly from ITunes
Kosher Cookbook App: Kudos to KosherEye friend Gloria Kobrin for her kosher recipe app, the Kosher Cookbbook. This app is priced at $1.99 and available for iPhone and iPad and available for download from iTunes.
Sending Edible Flowers
KosherEye friend, Gilly Cannon shared her delightful Purim Mishlach Manot theme with us and we are sharing it with you. It is very clever, cost effective, and totally delightful.We suggest that this is a wonderful idea year round!
"Sending ( edible) Flowers. My son and I used flower molds from Michaels to make chocolate roses and daisies. We used melted chocolate and cake decorations to cover Oreos and sprinkles to put on pretzels and cookies we had left over. I found party bags in a flower vase shape – 15 for $2.00 at Target and we made Purim messages from blank business cards with a flower stuck in the corner. I also wrote about the idea on my blog and explained that we received so much love and care when my husband had brain surgery recently that we are so glad to be able to give and receive in equal parts this Purim, by “sending flowers” to our friends as well as receiving mishloach manot from them." Thank you Gilly for sharing – visit her blog Brainstorm. There are pictures there too!
Photo - Gilly Cannon, Oreo Flower Cookies
Hagafen Kosher Wine at the White House
At the luncheon following the March 5th historic meeting between President Obama and Israeli Prime Minister Netanyahu, wine from Hagafen Cellars was served. Hagafen Cellars was honored to offer 2010 Lodi Roussanne, a luscious dry white wine, perfect for the occasion. This marks a more than 30 year, long–-standing relationship between the Hagafen Napa Valley winery and the White House. According to Hagafen winemaker/founder Ernie Weir “It is an honor and pleasure to have had our wines enjoyed at the White House over the course of the past decades by the leaders of our country and their guests.”
We received an important question from a KosherEye reader and posed this question to Naftali Hanau, CEO and Founder of Grow and Behold Foods.
Q: Do you know if kosher meat sold in the U.S. comes from animals fed on animal based feed?
A: It's very hard to generalize about "kosher meat sold in the US" coming from feed that contains animals. Kosher meat sold in the US comes from many different producers, and some meat comes from other countries. Practices for feeding vary widely. If you are concerned about eating beef that may have had animal by-products in it's diet, look for claims on the label or from the producer that the beef is "vegetarian-fed". This is a commonly made claim, and most domestic produced kosher beef likely meets this standard. It's worth noting that vegetarian fed as a claim does not have any implications for animal welfare or nutritional profile of the meat. At Grow and Behold Foods, our cattle are fed a pastured-based diet consisting of grass and grains, never animal by–products.
Kosher for Passover Quinoa
There has been much discussion regarding quinoa and whether it can be used during Passover. The following bulletin was sent by the CRC, Chicago Rabbinical Council:,
Chicago Rabbinical Council
2701 West Howard Street
Chicago, IL 60645
(773) 465-3900 Fax: (773) 465-6632
Rabbi Sholem Y. Fishbane
February 28, 2012
In 2007 HaRav Gedalia Dov Schwartz, Shlit”a, the Av Beis Din of the Chicago Rabbinical Council, issued a p’sak that quinoa is not considered kitniyos and therefore may be used on Pesach. Most of the quinoa comes from Peru and Bolivia and has been grown in areas where other (problematic for Pesach) grains were generally not grown. However, as the popularity of quinoa has risen, this is no longer the absolute case. This was confirmed this year by a Star-K mashgiach who visited Bolivia and found that barley does indeed grow in those areas. It was also recently discovered that some farmers cover their quinoa with barley and/or oats to keep the birds from eating the quinoa while it dries. Finally, there is a concern that the sacks used to transfer the quinoa may have been previously used to hold barley or oats.
We have, therefore, determined that the only way to allow quinoa for use on Pesach is to track the quinoa from certain farms that are free from the above concerns. The Star-K spearheaded this endeavor and sent a mashgiach to find such a farm. While they were successful in their search, it proved to be challenging from a practical point of view, as the company visited generally sells their products in large quantities. The Star-K has now worked with other companies to pack the usable quinoa into smaller packages, and the following three options have been approved for Pesach quinoa consumption:
- Andean Naturals with a lot code beginning SCI-JI sold only in 1,000 lb increments. The contact information is:
Sergio Nuñez de Arco; Andean Naturals; Organic Quinoa and Quinoa-based Ingredients
Brought to you by Specialty Commodities, Inc.
Toll Free (888) 547-9777 x 711 www.andeannaturals.com
- Andean Naturals with a lot code beginning SCI-JI sold in wholesale 25 lb bags. The contact information is:
194 Orange St. Oakland, CA 94610
Sales Support: (914)220-2974; Customer Service: (954)336-1743
Hours of Operation M-F (PST) 10:00am-4:00pm
- Quinoa Corp, Ancient Harvest brand, lot code 3.01.14 k, sold in small retail 12 oz boxes. When ordering directly from them, mention that you want the Passover run.
http://www.quinoa.net/; (310) 217-8125
It is important to note that even the quinoa from the above approved sources should be carefully checked before Pesach for any foreign matter before use. This can be done by spreading the quinoa out on a plate and carefully checking there are no other grains or foreign matter mixed in.
The cRc would like to thank Rabbi Zvi Goldberg of the Star-K and Rabbi Reuven Nathanson of the OU for their help on researching this issue.
Coffee & Donuts
We just had to share this recipe from the Cooking Channel, Drinks with Alie and Georgia episode. We love coffee, cocktails, and donuts and were delighted to find a drink that combined all three! And the ingredients in the cocktail include some of our favorites. What a great drink to serve for Purim. Enjoy this recipe for Drunken Donuts Cocktail. Thank you Alie and Georgia!